- Licensed entity
- Saxo Capital Markets UK Limited
- Licence no.
- FRN 551422
Saxo Bank
Licensed Danish bank offering a professional-grade multi-asset platform with over 70,000 instruments.
We searched the IOSCO international alerts database on 12 Oct 2026.
Licences (5)
- Licensed entity
- Saxo Bank (Switzerland) Ltd
- Licence no.
- Not stated
- Licensed entity
- Saxo Bank A/S
- Licence no.
- Bank licence 1149
- Licensed entity
- Saxo Capital Markets Pte Ltd
- Licence no.
- Not stated
- Licensed entity
- Saxo Capital Markets HK Limited
- Licence no.
- Not stated
The broker also reports licences from JFSA, ASIC, DFSA. We haven't checked these yet, so they aren't in the score.
Which company you sign up with depends on where you live. Your protections (compensation scheme, leverage limits, negative balance protection) come from that company's regulator.
Score breakdown
Weighted total: 9.4 / 10, ranked #8 of 30. How we score
- Regulation strength: Based on the strongest regulator licensing the broker, plus extra tier-1 and tier-2 licences.
- Licence status: Whether any licence has been revoked or has expired.
- Track record: Years in business: 0.5 points per year, up to 10.
- Transparency: Publicly listed parent, licences disclosed, head office published, client money segregated.
- Regulator alerts: Deductions for regulator alerts against the broker's own companies or websites.
Regulator alerts (0)
Scam sites impersonating Saxo Bank
These alerts are about fraudsters copying the broker's name. They don't count against its score. Always check the website address before you log in or deposit.
- Saxo Group (clone) (saxogroup.se): FI, 9 Jun 2026 · source
Overview
Saxo Bank A/S is a licensed Danish bank supervised by the Danish Financial Supervisory Authority. Group companies hold licences in the UK (FCA), Singapore (MAS), Switzerland (FINMA) and Hong Kong (SFC), among others. It offers more than 70,000 instruments across forex, shares, ETFs, bonds, options and futures through SaxoTraderGO and the desktop platform SaxoTraderPRO.
Who it suits: Experienced traders and investors who want bank-grade regulation, professional platforms and a very wide range of instruments.
Company information
Trading conditions
Pros & cons
Pros
- Parent company is a licensed bank
- 70,000+ instruments, including bonds, options and futures
- SaxoTraderPRO is a professional-grade desktop platform
- OpenAPI for algorithmic trading
Cons
- Best pricing tiers need large balances
- Currency conversion fees on cross-currency trades
- Pricing structure can be complex
Frequently asked questions
Is Saxo Bank regulated?
Yes. Saxo Bank companies hold licences from FCA, FINMA, Finanstilsynet, MAS, SFC (5 licences in our database). Your protection depends on which Saxo Bank company you open an account with, so check that company on the regulator's register before you deposit.
Is Saxo Bank safe?
Saxo Bank has a score of 9.4/10, and we found no regulator alerts against its own companies or websites in the IOSCO database. No broker is risk-free: leveraged CFDs can lose you money quickly.
Which Saxo Bank company will I open an account with?
It depends on where you live. The companies in our database are: Saxo Bank A/S (Finanstilsynet, Denmark); Saxo Capital Markets UK Limited (FCA, United Kingdom); Saxo Capital Markets Pte Ltd (MAS, Singapore); Saxo Bank (Switzerland) Ltd (FINMA, Switzerland); Saxo Capital Markets HK Limited (SFC, Hong Kong). Clients outside the UK, EU and Australia are often onboarded to an offshore company with weaker protection.
Does Saxo Bank accept US clients?
No. Saxo Bank doesn't accept US residents.
What's the minimum deposit and maximum leverage at Saxo Bank?
Minimum deposit: $0 (Classic); higher for premium tiers. Maximum leverage: 30:1 retail (EU / UK); higher for professional clients.
Which platforms does Saxo Bank offer?
SaxoTraderGO, SaxoTraderPRO, OpenAPI.
CFDs are complex instruments and carry a high risk of losing money quickly because of leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs. Make sure you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. Licence data checked 12 Oct 2026. Details can change; always confirm on the regulator's register.